Raspberry Pi 4 Howto

After all the trouble I went through trying to figure out why EasyRPG kept crashing on me due to Debug: Event 0 exceeded execution limit) I finally figured it out and decided to post a decent guide for others. if i missed a few things sorry i’m still learning linux myself.

RPG Maker RTP files should go in the /RetroPie/roms/ports/easyrpgplayer/data folders RTP2000 / RTP2003.

I run 2 machines a Windows setup and a PI4 using Pixel Desktop so i just extracted them on the windows machine and transferred the RTP files using windows explorer with \RetroPie

Next go to Debian Backports and download the ARMHF version of libfmt Debian -- Details of package libfmt-dev in buster-backports

install it with

sudo dpkg -i libfmt-dev_6.1.2+ds-2_bpo10+1_armhf.deb

Next download libclf from GIThub by clicking the green code button https://github.com/EasyRPG/liblcf

install it with:

tar xf liblcf-0.6.2.tar.xz # unpack the tarball
cd liblcf-0.6.2 # enter in the package directory
cmake . -DPLAYER_TARGET_PLATFORM=libretro # configure project
cmake --build . # compile the library
sudo cmake --build . --target install # install system-wide

Finally we can install EasyRPG 0.6.2.1 stable. download it from https://github.com/EasyRPG/Player

the cmake method did not work for me so i had to install it using the automake method.

tar xf easyrpg-player-0.6.2.tar.xz # unpack the tarball
cd easyrpg-player-0.6.2 # enter in the package directory
autoreconf -i # generate configure script
./configure # find libraries, set options
make # compile the executable

When the install is complete copy your RPGmaker game into the EasyRPG folder and run easyrpg-player.exe

RPG maker MV files will also run on the PI 4 if you use the Firefox browser. In the browser address bar enter the following command: about:config

Do not change anything on this screen,

In the search field type:

security.fileuri.strict_origin_policy

Double click this item, it will change from “true” to “false”.