Trouble with the EasyRPG Player for the web

Hello. I would love to be able to run my games on the web, but I am unable to get it to work. I should mention that I have zero experience with html, and I am essentially feeling my way in the dark. It is very possible that I am making an incredibly basic error.

First of all, you guys should know that the ‘Download this archive’ link on this wiki page is broken. Luckily, I already had the archive on my computer.

I believe that I have everything set up correctly. My game’s files are in the games/default directory, and I have replaced the original RPG_RT.exe with the EasyRPG executable. I have also converted all audio files to ogg vorbis.

When I open index.html in my browser. The player simply displays the ‘Downloading…’ message and does not update.

The console in Chrome displays the following message: “Failed to load resource: net::ERR_FILE_NOT_FOUND (I’ve edited this portion of the file path edited out for privacy’s sake) /player-js/DogengamHTML/index-master.js”

Should there be a file called “index-master.js” in the archive? There is one called ‘index.js’. I tried to rename it to index-master.js just to see what would happen and it gave me more errors.

Needless to say I am confused and out of my depth. Any help is very much appreciated!

Hi ihavefivehat!

Sorry, indeed the tarball download link was broken.
I’ve updated the link for now (still provisional), but it is still broken currently because still lacks the preloaded MIDI data file (“index.data”, around 17 MB).
We expect to fix this soon, however there is also a proposal to add small MIDI synthesizer to prevent downloading that huge MIDI instrument data on startup instead.

The MIDI data file you need to download this one:
easyrpg.org/play/index.data (right click, save as!!!)
If the file does not work with your code, download this one:
easyrpg.org/play/index-master.data (right click, save as!!!) ← this one should work with the updated download wiki link.